Profile of Chairman and Members of 7th Pay commission

Apart from constitution of pay revising committee, the Terms of Reference of 7th pay commission would play a vital role in evolving proper pay structure for central government employees and pensioners and all the employees of state governments too, as all the state governments have been forced to fallow the 7th CPC recommendations. Though the pay commission will prepare a questionnaire to get feedback from all the staff associations, unions and federations and from common public to work out accordingly to finalize the pay package of government employees, the attitude of its Members towards functioning of government organizations and work ethics of government servants will be the deciding factor in writing the fate of the government servants for the next ten years. So it is important to know the short profile of Chairman and Members of 7th Pay Commission to presume the trend of the 7th CPC report

Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.K. Mathur –  CHAIRMAN
Former Judge

Mr. Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur, M.A.,L.L.B – was born on August 7, 1943 . He was enrolled as an Advocate of the Rajasthan High Court on October 20, 1967 . He was appointed as Assistant Government Advocate and Deputy Government Advocate on August 2,

ashok kumar mathur
ashok kumar mathur

1969 and Government Advocate of Jodhpur from January 31, 1977 to July 12, 1978 . Appointed as Additional Advocate General in 1981. He was appointed as Additional Judge on July 13, 1985 and permanent Judge of the Rajasthan High Court on July 23, 1986 . He was transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court on February 18, 1994 .

He was appointed as Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court from February 3, 1996 . Transferred to the Calcutta High Court on December 22, 1999 .

He was elevated as Judge , Supreme Court of India on June 7, 2004.
Retired on August 7, 2008 (F.N)


Mr. Vivek Rae – MEMBER (FULL TIME)
Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, India

Mr. Vivek Rae took over as Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas in the month of February, 2013.
Mr. Vivek Rae entered the Indian Administrative Service in 1978, after a brief stint asa Management Trainee with Hindustan Lever Limited (subsidiary of UnileverLimited)

vivek rae
vivek rae

  As a civil servant, Mr Rae has acquired wide ranging experience cutting across social and economic sectors, including health, education, planning and finance. Mr. Rae served as Deputy Commissioner in the state of Arunachal Pradesh from 1985 to 1988.

Mr. Rae served briefly at the Prime Minister’s Office during 1989-90 and there after worked as Assistant Resident Representative with the United National Development Programme, New Delhi from 1991-1995. Mr Rae worked as Finance Secretary and Planning Secretary in the state of Goa during 1996-1999, Planning Secretary in the National Capital Territory of Delhi during 1999-2001 and Joint Secretary (PlanFinance) in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India during 2002-2006.

rathin roy

Rathin Roy took charge as Director NIPFP in May 2013. Prior to joining NIPFP, he has been the Director of Asia Pacific Regional Centre, UNDP, Bangkok, and the Director, International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG), UNDP, Brazil. He has also served as the Public Resource Management Advisor, and the Acting Cluster Leader, Inclusive Development, in the Poverty Practice, Bureau for Development Policy (BDP), UNDP. On invitation from the Government of India, he also served as the Economic Advisor to the Thirteenth Finance Commission, a Constitutional body of the Government of India. He has worked in over 80 countries during and prior to his tenure with UNDP, and is a well known figure in the world of applied macroeconomic and fiscal policy.

He holds a PhD in Economics and an MPhil from the University of Cambridge, UK. Post-PhD, he was tenured in the Economics Faculty at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, and an Economist with the Institute for Development Policy and Management, University of Manchester.

Smt. Meena Agarwal is a 1980 batch IRAS officer and wife of Shri OP Agarwal, a 1979 batch ex-IAS, who is now in a senior position at World Bank. Smt. Meena Agarwal is presently Officer on Special Duty, Procurement Policy Division, Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance

Get Free Email Updates

Follow us on Telegram ChannelTwitter Facebook and Whatsapp Channel for all Latest News and Updates

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top